Meat Poppers

meatballsI have been doing some serious Jonesin’ for meatballs. I think I am protein-deprived. Chicken, tuna or steak would not do…it had to be meatballs tonight! I scanned my Pinterest recipes for something eye-catching, then jumped over to NomNomPaleo’s blog, knowing that she has an excellent recipe that I had spied. I did not have all the ingredients on hand, and I was starving, so here is my homage to Michelle’s Asian Meatballs! This made quite a bit…24 two inch meatballs plus enough for a tiny meatloaf!

Meat Poppers

Ingredients:

  • 2 pounds ground beef
  • 8 ounces of raw baby carrots
  • 8 ounces of raw sliced button mushrooms
  • 1 medium raw onion, quartered
  • 2 Tbs. tomato sauce
  • 3 Tbs. Fish Sauce  (I used Thai Kitchen Fish Sauce…no gluten or MSG!)
  • 1 egg
  • salt/pepper to taste

Preheat oven to 375 degrees. Line baking sheet with aluminum foil; grease with a little coconut oil.

  • Place meat in large bowl.
  • Mince vegetables in food processor (I processed each vegetable separately.)
  • Add vegetables to meat.
  • Add egg, fish sauce, and tomato sauce.
  • Add salt and pepper.
  • Mix all ingredients together well.
  • Form into 2 inch meatballs; arrange on baking sheet. (I also used a 3 x 5  loaf pan; once I made 24 meatballs,  I placed the remainder of the mixture in the loaf pan to make a tiny meatloaf.)
  • Bake at 375 degrees for 15-18 minutes. (Meatloaf may need an extra 5 minutes.)
  • Serve these little meat poppers with the vegetable of your choice!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

