Hot N’ Spicy GF PB Cookies

This peanut butter cookie recipe is adapted from Gretchen’s G-Free Peanut Butter Cookies, which was adapted from Elana’s Pantry. I doubled Gretchen’s recipe (Thank you, Ladies!)

The spiciness of these cookies sneaks up on you…adjust the spicy peanut butter/honey to suit your tastes! Here is my adaptation…PB with a kick!

Hot N’ Spicy GF PB Cookies

Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Combine dry ingredients in a medium bowl, whisk to blend, and set aside. Combine remaining ingredients in a large mixing bowl, blending well. Slowly add dry ingredients to wet, mixing thoroughly. Scoop dough onto parchment-lined cookie sheet; I used a small ice cream scoop. Gently press wet fork into the top of each cookie, making a criss-cross pattern. Bake at 350 until edges are brown. (Gretchen’s recipe called for 8 minutes of baking time; my batch required 11 minutes. Oven temps vary!) Remove from oven, and allow to cool on parchment paper, then transfer to a cooling rack. Cookies are fragile right out of the oven. Makes about 30 cookies.

My batch made 22 cookies…here is the rough nutrition info per cookie:

Net carbohydrate 10.0g, fat 12.7g, carbohydrate 11g, fiber 1g,                                                 protein 4.4g, sodium 48mg, sugars 7g

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Hot N’ Spicy GF PB Cookies

  1. This sounds good, I’d never thought of adding heat to them! And very true about oven temps… I should probably start noting that I use a convection oven, which seems to shorten bake time for more delicate things like cookies.

    • Thanks! I must confess, this recipe evolved from being short on regular PB and honey, but having a nice supply of the spicy versions! I am pleased with the results. I wondered about the 8 minute cooking time…I thought it might have had something to do with the almond flour! I need to learn more about convection cooking.

Leave a Reply

