More Discoveries

My next discovery was Wheat Belly by Dr. William Davis, a practicing cardiologist in Wisconsin. Of course, I downloaded it immediately and read in cover to cover. Dr. Davis’ book gives the history of wheat, and how its genetic code has been modified over time into a product that has no resemblance to the grassy grain that our ancestors ate centuries ago. No more “amber waves of grain”…modern day dwarf wheat is only 18 inches high. Instead of the original 14 chromosomes in the original Einkorn wheat, genetically modified wheat has 42 chromosomes.  I don’t like scientists messing with my food. I prefer my meals to be as natural as possible! Dr. Davis also has a blog: Wheatbelly: Lose the Wheat, Lose the Weight.

So, if you are going to go low-carb, primal, no wheat, no grains…you need something to keep track of it all. Since I am a techno-geek, I searched around for an iPhone app to help me with all the data. My favorite is the Low-Carb Diet Assistant. It has great features, and breaks down the data clearly for you. This way, I can keep track of carbs, proteins, water and weight all in one place!

BTW…since starting this little adventure, I have lost 14 pounds.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

